Javascript is required to view this site. Skip to main content
Text:    -   | Translate
Menu

Licensing

Salt Lake County Animal Services has a new online pet licensing portal, the GREY BAR below. If you have difficulties navigating the portal please email animal@slco.org for assistance.

We also hold licensing and microchipping clinics throughout the year both on-site and out in the community. Look at our "Calendar" to see when and where the next one will be.

Continue to Online Licensing Portal

Licensing FAQ

How to License Your Pet

By Mail

Mail in a completed copy of the Application Form
(with appropriate vaccination and sterilization certificates, and license fee) to the address on the form.

  • Applicants for senior citizen licenses must also include proof of age

In Person

Come to the shelter with your animal's paperwork and you can walk away with their license in-hand.

Online

  1. Create an account through the online portal. 

  2. Fill out the online application and pay the licensing fee with a valid debit/credit card. 
  3. Submit proof of vaccination and sterilization.

  4. When all paperwork has been received and the fees have been paid, your license and receipts will be mailed to you.

If paperwork is not received within 30 days, your license will expire and you'll need to restart the licensing process (and repay the licensing fees)

Cities &Townships We License

We serve the citizens and pets within the Salt Lake County Metro Townships (Brighton, Copperton, County Islands, Emigration Canyon, Kearns, Magna & White City), Bluffdale, Holladay, Midvale, Millcreek, Murray, and Salt Lake Cities. All cats, dogs, and ferrets in these areas must be licensed by the time the pet is 5 months of age or within 30 days of moving into an area or acquiring a pet. 

Need licensing information for other animal control agencies in Utah?
Check out the links to local city offices/shelters.

Licensing Fees
DOG, CAT, AND FERRET LICENSING FEE
Unsterilized $40.00
Sterilized $15.00
*Senior Citizen (60 & older) - sterilized  $5.00
Transfer fee $5.00
Replacement tag $5.00
Late license penalty (in addition to regular fee) $50.00

 

 Questions about licensing? Contact animal@slco.org or 385-468-7387.

Why License My Pet
  • It is a Utah State Law that your pet be licensed. Find out more in our Laws section. 
  • A license is the best way to reunite you with your pet if he/she becomes lost
  • A pet wearing a license tag can quickly be identified and returned to you

 

Watershed Pet Permits

If you live in a watershed area, you will need a specific Watershed Permit. Download a Watershed brochure for more information. 

Animal Services
511 West 3900 South  
Salt Lake City, UT 84123
Phone: (385) 468-7387
Fax: (385) 468-6028
Email
Hours: By Appt Only

Closed Sundays and Holidays

24/hr Officer Dispatch:

801-840-4000