Utah Indoor Clean Air Act
The Utah Indoor Clean Air Act (UICAA) is law under Utah Code Title 26, Chapter 38 and Rule R392-510. The UICAA prohibits:
- Smoking or using e-cigarettes (vaping) in all enclosed indoor places that allow public access
- Smoking or using e-cigarettes (vaping) within 25 feet of any entrance, exit, open window, or air intake of a building where smoking is prohibited.
The UICAA requires buildings that allow access by the public to place “No Smoking” signage at all entrances or in a position clearly visible upon entry into the building.
Buildings may implement their own policies that exceed the UICAA’s requirement.
To speak with someone regarding the UICAA, please call 385-468-5348.
Buildings that allow public access are responsible for enforcing the UICAA (and their own smoking policies).
The UICAA requires that if an owner of a place where smoking is prohibited (or the owner’s agent or employee) observes someone smoking, they must request that the person stop smoking.
If the smoker fails to comply, the proprietor (or agent/employee) must ask the person to leave the premises.
You may anonymously report violations of the UICAA via the button above.
When we receive a complaint, enforcement personnel will visit the location of the violation within two business days. We make every effort to use education as the primary tool to correct violations. However, failure to abide by the requirements can result in monetary penalties to businesses, agencies, organizations, or individuals. All complaints are confidential; details of a report are never shared with third parties.
Businesses, agencies, organizations, or individuals who do not abide by the requirements of the UICAA may be subject to the following civil monetary penalties:
- 1st violation: fine of up to $100
- 2nd or subsequent violations: fine not less than $100 and not more than $500
Furthermore, persons, associations, corporations, or their officers who violate a lawful health department order can be subject to a civil penalty of up to $10,000 per occurrence and Class B and A misdemeanor criminal charges, as well as revocation or nonrenewal of permits, licenses, or certificates.
Anonymously report violations of the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act via the button above.
The Salt Lake County Health Department offers businesses free “No Smoking” signage to display at building entrances and drive-thru windows.
These signs meet the signage requirements of the UICAA.